top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturedyah putri arief

Reflection on Teaching Performance.

I had my final teaching demonstration on September, 10th 2019 in Far Eastern University Senior High School as a Sea-Teacher Participant Batch 8. And this is the lesson I learned;


Preparation:

From September 5th to September 8th, Me and my cooperating-teacher were busily preparing the material for my final teaching demo. I was surfing the internet intensely in order to familiarize myself with the content. I teach 21st Century Literature from the Philippines and the world. And, the topic that I teach is about Literature Criticism.


D-day:

Before the actual teaching demo, I had my practices in two classes, ABM 1 and ABM 2. It went well and better compared to my previous teaching practices on the other day, although I can feel the nervousness all over my head.


On the actual teaching demo, my mind went half blank. I manage to start the class in a correct manner, starting with praying and checking the attendance. I also did a recall session where I ask the students to recall their memories of their previous class, it also went quite well. After that, I did my motivation part. I present some pictures of Simba from The Lion King with different angles. Originally, the pictures were supposed to be in a 3D format and I have to change the angle by dragging the cursor on the picture. But there are some difficulties, so I changed the plan to print-screen it and present it as 2D format. The motivation part went well, the students were very active and got interested in the picture, so the classroom situation was lively. After presenting the pictures, I ask some questions to relate the motivation part to the lesson proper.


Proceed to the lesson proper and review part, this is where the nervousness strikes. Overall, I was not satisfied enough when I present the lesson proper part. compared to the previous classes I had that day, my confidence level dropped way too much below any ground, my voice went a lot softer, my eyes lost its focus, I could not enjoy myself in front of the class, and maybe some of the students and the observer could see my obvious panic state. It was not easy to control the pace, mostly your emotion because I was in the edge of crying for the full 85 minutes.

Some part of the presentation contains an unfamiliar content about Filipino's Literature, and this is what scares me the most. I was afraid that I would misinterpret the Noli Me Tangere novel and could bring some harm to the students' knowledge. Even after doing bunch of research, I think I could not show my expertise in the topic that well. However, I always make sure to ask the students if they have any questions regarding the sub-topic and I can sense they got the point of the lesson, so that is a big relieve.


After the lesson proper, I continue to the review. I prepared a task where students must analyse a short poem made by Filipino using the literary approaches discussed. I also gave them the rubric that will guide the scoring. It went well in my opinion, I manage to roam around the class to check their progress, also asking them if they understood the instruction, and if they had any questions.


I manage to use the time effectively as I started the class on time and manage to spare 10 minutes before 85 minutes to collect the students work, informing the assignment and wrapping up.


September 12 2019 - New Manila

126 views0 comments
bottom of page