top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturedyah putri arief

First Introduction, First Meeting, First Impression - Day two, Observation Day One

Updated: Oct 3, 2019

Me and Cindi are supposed to met our cooperating teachers at 8.15 am. But, we got lost in FEU and had to wait for Ms. Aisa to accompany us before meeting our cooperating teachers.


We finally met them around 8.30 am, it is Ms. Shiela Atanacio and Ms. Abigail Antonio. They told us that we are the ones who were supposed to choose the cooperathow much is too much makeup d=for student, ing teachers, So I chose Ms. Shiela. She was very kind! after a short introduction, I and Ms. Shiela proceed to my first observation class at 8.45 pm.


The overall observation is really nice! The students are nice too. I took two classes to observe that day, the 8.45-10.00am and 10.00-11.15. The students will have 5 classes and one homeroom class a day. Each class are 1 hour and 15 minutes long. They only have to attend formal classes 4 days a week, Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, and Friday. While on Wednesday, the students will focus on club activities.

Situation inside one of the class - I cannot show the students faces because they are still minor, so this photo is the only one that didnot show their faces

During the observation period, I wrote so many things on my notebook, I cannot disclose everything in here but some of them are more of the differences between Philippine's and Indonesian's teaching situations such as; the students did not have a printed book or a module with them and the teachers will provide the materials through presentation at least in English Subject, the students are allowed to wear make-up --especially tourism students-- as long it is not too heavy, and they also have two breaks but the difference is it is earlier; 1st breaks is the breakfast break from 08.15 to 08.45 second breaks is lunch break from 11.15 to 12.15.


After my second class, I and Ms Shiela went back to the teachers office and we discussed all of my questions and concerns. Most of my concerns are about the practical teaching situation such as; when should I ask the prayer leader to lead the pray, how much is too much makeup for students, gadget policy, which cultural references should I refer to since I do not know about filipino's, and the proper teaching attire here in the school.


I am very satisfied with Ms. Shiela's answers as she really intended to help me, even on the smallest and considered not so important questions. Her answers are really clear and also fascinating to me as it is quite different from what I had experienced in Indonesia back in the day. After the question and answer session, we discussed on which class should I attend tomorrow and also we discussed other little things. we finished around 11.40ish and we separate our ways to get lunch. I went home after my lunch.


I supposed to report myself to IE's office after my sessions end but my report paper was still on Cindi's possession so I decided to went home right away after discussing it with Ms Jenny.


August 20th, 2019

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Reflection on Teaching Performance.

I had my final teaching demonstration on September, 10th 2019 in Far Eastern University Senior High School as a Sea-Teacher Participant Batch 8. And this is the lesson I learned; Preparation: From Sep

Closing Ceremony! Gratitude and Regret (1/2)

We are getting our closing ceremony for Sea-Teacher Batch 8 in the Far Eastern University, Manila, Philippines today. It has been 24 day since I land my feet in this country. The ceremony were suppose

bottom of page